Legal Procurement 101 & Best Practices calls

We regularly hold members-only calls for buyers of legal services. Our calls focus on practical information and solutions. We cover issues you face in your daily work, best practices, and the latest trends in buying legal services.
Questions on legal procurement? Need to ask an expert?

Buying legal services is quite the challenge. Dial into our Legal Procurement 101 peer-to-peer calls: ask experienced legal procurement professionals anything you want to know about best practices and "how-to's". 

Want to hear about best practices?

Get new ideas, new insight, and learn about best practices: Dial into our Legal Procurement Best Practices calls. Thought leaders will focus on a specific topic, hold a brief presentation, followed by time for Q&A. 

Mark your calendars:

Members automatically receive invites/dial-ins for upcoming calls.

  • Wed, September 20, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: The Impact of Blockchains & Smart Contracts on Legal Services Demand & Spend with Nitin Gaur (IBM Blockchain Labs)
  • Wed, September 27, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: Developing an Advanced Retainer Fee Model with Sandy Duncan (Lloyds Banking Group)
  • Mon, October 2, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: e-Discovery with Kimberly Bell (Nissan)
  • Wed, October 11, 2017 | New Member Call: Buying Legal Council Resources & Tools You Can Use with Silvia Hodges Silverstein (Buying Legal Council)
  • Wed, October 18, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: Disruption and Trends - Buying Effectively from a Dynamic Third Party Legal Services Market with Juan Crosby (PwC)
  • Wed, November 8, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: Our Journey to Digitized Legal Spend Management with Benno Quade (Software AG)
  • Wed, November 29, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: Buying Legal Services – The Wal-Mart Way with Alan Bryan (Walmart)
  • Wed, December 6, 2017 | EMEA/Americas: How to Build a Legal Budget with Catherine Krow (Digitory Legal)
  • Wed, January 10, 2018 | EMEA/Americas: Controlling Billable Hour Spend When AFAs Aren’t An Option with Stephanie Arkin (Chain IQ)
  • Wed, January 24, 2018 | EMEA/Americas: Reverse Auctions as a Negotiations Tool with Matt Rossman (XL Catlin)
  • Wed, February 7, 2018 | EMEA/Americas: The Synergy of Pricing and Legal Project Management with John O'Donoghue (Herbert Smith Freehill)

  • Please note that our EMEA/Americas calls are held at:

    Europe: 17:00 CET / 16:00 GMT
    Americas: 11:00am ET / 10:00am CT / 9:00am MT / 8:00am PT

    Our Asia-Pacific calls are held at:
    New Zealand: 3pm NZDT
    Australia: 12pm AEST; 1pm AEDT; 12.30pm ACDT; 10am AWST; 11.30am ACST
    Hong Kong & Singapore: 10am HKT/SGT
    India: 7:30am IST

    We wish you could have joined us!

    Members can access information from past conference calls. 
    Browse our selection of summary Cheat Sheets.

    • June 14, 2017 | CIBC's RFP Process for Managing and Sourcing Legal Matters with Richard Brzakala (CIBC-Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce)
    • June 7, 2017 | APAC CALL: Succeeding with Alternative Fee Arrangements  with Pier D'Angelo (Allens)
    • May 24, 2017 | Commoditization of Legal Services with Jaap Bosman (TGO Consulting)
    • May 3, 2017 | Brexit Impact on Legal Spend with Nick Williams (Proxima Group)
    • April 12, 2017 | Artificial Intelligence for Legal Services with Ron Friedman (Firemen & Company)
    • April 19, 2017 | Legal Procurement 101 with James Lloyd (Air Swift)
    • March 22, 2017 | APAC CALL: Sourcing Legal Services - Maximising Value with Marty Harlow (GlaxoSmithKline)
    • March 1, 2017 | Cyber Security for Legal Services with Jason Anderman (American Express)
    • February 8, 2017 | Legal Procurement Disruption and Technology with Gerard Chick (Skanor Group)
    • February 8, 2017 | APAC CALL: Implications of the major trends in the legal services supply chain with George Beaton (Beaton Capital)
    • January 18, 2017 | Improve your RFP with John de Forte (De Forte Associates)
    • December 14, 2016 | Operational Excellence in Legal Procurement: How to Create it with Mo Zain Ajaz (National Grid)
    • November 30, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 with Sarah-Jayne (SJ) Aldridge (Prudential Financial Services)
    • November 16, 2016 | Performance Ratings: Increasing Performance Transparency with Ewa Stormowska (Impacore)
    • October 19, 2016 | Can "Value" be Measured? VRQs (Value-Related Qualities) with Steve Lauer (Lauer & Associates)
    • October 12, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 with Olivia Knight (Credit Suisse)
    • September 28, 2016 | Navigating Change in the Legal Category Mark Beese (Leadership for Lawyers)
    • September 22, 2016 | RFPs: Pricing Insights from a law firm's perspective (Part 2) Matt Prinn & Bart Gabler (both K&L Gates)
    • June 22, 2016 | RFPs: Insights from a law firm's perspective (Part 1) Matthew Prinn (K&L Gates)
    • June 8, 2016 | Understanding your Legal Spend Laura Doyle (Yerra Solutions)
    • May 25, 2016 | Translating Business Processes to Lawyers Ian Stockley (Freeths)
    • May 18, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 Justin Ergler (GlaxoSmithKline) 
    • April 20, 2016 | Delivering Value: Partnership of Legal Procurement and Legal Operations Elizabeth Lugones (BD) 
    • April 13, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 Magen McClintock (KeyBank) 
    • March 30, 2016 | Getting your Message Heard: How to Speak "Lawyer" with Leah Cooper (Leah Cooper Consulting)
    • March 9, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 Robert Kulesh (Citi) 
    • February 17, 2016 | Benchmarking Law Firms with Aaron Katzel (AIG) 
    • February 10, 2016 | Negotiating with Law Firms with Richard Stock (Catalyst) 
    • January 27, 2016 | Legal Procurement 101 with Suraj T.M. Prashad (MetLife) 
    • January 13, 2016 | Pricing: Combat or Collaboration - Which produces the best outcomes? with Richard Burcher (Validatum) 
    • December 16, 2015 | How to get better service from law firms with Nancey Watson (NL Watson Consulting Inc)
    • December 2, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Susan O'Brien (Bank of America)
    • November 24, 2015 | Best Practices for legal services RFPs with Jason Winmill (Argopoint)
    • October 28, 2015 | Better than discounts: AFAs with Vincent Cordo (Shell Oil Corporation)
    • October 14, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Felicia Suggs (Johnson & Johnson)
    • September 9, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Marc Calhoun (Abercrombie & Fitch)
    • July 8, 2015 | How to get Law Firms to Change with Ken Grady (Michigan State Law School) 
    • June 24, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Beth Wallace (Wallace Consulting) 
    • June 2, 2015 | How Law Firms Think with Jose Pariente (White & Case) 
    • May 27, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Jason Winmill (Argopoint)
    • April 22, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Danny Ertel (Vantage Partners)
    • April 17, 2015 | Supplier Report Cards for Law Firms with Andy Krebs (Intel Corporation)
    • March 17, 2015 | Legal Procurement 101 with Justin Ergler (GlaxoSmithKline)
    • March 5, 2015 | Understanding Privilege with Jo Ellen Hatfield (Bunge)
    • November 18, 2014 | Best Practices for Reining in eDiscovery Cost with Greg Witczak (RBS) and Tom Morrissey (Purdue Pharma)