Legal Procurement Awards

Honoring advances in Legal Procurement

The Buying Legal Council is pleased to announce the 2018 Legal Procurement Awards. 

The Buying Legal Council Legal Procurement Awards showcase the advances in legal procurement and legal procurement best practices. They honor those who are at the forefront of new developments and inspire others.

The goal is to identify and acknowledge the best industry initiatives in five areas of legal procurement, including Innovation, Collaboration, Teamwork, Best Use of Technology, and Process Improvement.

Legal procurement professionals from any industry and country can participate by submitting a detailed description of their project: From the project goal, strategy and implementation to the results of the project as well as budget and return on investment.

Deadline for submission was Monday, July 16, 2018

We will announce the winners at the North America Legal Procurement conference in New York (September 5 & 6).

Who can participate?

Any client-side professional involved in sourcing of legal services and managing supplier relationships can submit their project. Legal procurement consultants and other services providers may only submit their project together with their client.

Which projects qualify?

You can compete for the following Award categories:
  • Innovation
  • Collaboration
  • Teamwork
  • Best Use of Technology
  • Process Improvement
Please read below to get a better sense of how your project fits in our selection criteria. Submissions must relate to projects conducted in 2017/2018. 

When can you participate?

The submission process is open now. The submission deadline was July 16, 2018.
The results will be made public at the North America conference in New York on September 5 & 6, 2018.

How do you participate?

Participants fill in the online form. Only complete entry forms will be accepted and evaluated. The US$100 processing fee must be paid in full before the deadline. If any parts of your submission should be considered confidential, please print CONFIDENTIAL in upper case before the relevant chapter or paragraph. Please note that the Synopsis part may not contain any confidential information.

What information do I need to submit?

We require the following information: Synopsis of your project, Project goal, Strategy, Implementation, Results, ROI and Budget, and Why you? Each area has a minimum and maximum word count.

What are the criteria for evaluation?

Each Award category has different evaluation criteria.


The winning team/individual has provided an innovation to its organization that had significant impact on cost reduction, reduction of legal spend or performance efficiency. This Award recognizes individuals who are adapt at anticipating, embracing and implementing that change.
Focus on a specific project or initiative which was finalized successfully.
The innovation should represent a new and creative approach or process that created value for the organization and improved performance.


The collaboration award is given to an individual or legal procurement team who conducted a successful project or initiative, for its excellent collaboration with another function from the same organization (cross-functional) or with an external partner.
The team successfully accomplished goals, was an honest and dependable player who contributed to group collaboration. The people involved showed empathy and respect for others and built and maintained good working relationships with internal stakeholders, other functions and external legal-services providers.
Focus on a specific project or initiative which was finalized successfully.
Focus on the role played by the Procurement professional or team in the collaboration and how this has successfully influenced the outcome.


The winning team worked together to achieve a significant goal.
They enhanced the image of the buying legal profession by setting and achieving the highest standards of excellence in their business.
They added value to their organization and improved their performance for the benefit of their stakeholders.
Focus on team presentation (diversity, skills, background etc.) and the achieved goal.
Focus on the key challenges the team has overcome to achieve the goal.


The winning team/individual used technology in an innovative way to improve performance and/or efficiency (e.g. collaborated most effectively, improved cost transparency, monitored budgets, and created legal analytics).
Focus on both the high quality of the legal procurement work and the innovative use of technology.


The winning team/individual has set up a successful process improvement initiative: Processes have been upgraded or changed, resulting in demonstrable improvements to business outcomes.
Focus on a specific project or initiative which was finalized successfully.
Focus on outcome/project result.

Who are the Award judges?

A group of experienced legal procurement professionals chaired by Marty Harlow, Procurement Director, Global Legal Services (GlaxoSmithKline), serve as Award judges: Susan O’Brien, SVP, Procurement Manager, Global Risk & Compliance (Bank of America), Denise Liddy, Global Sourcing Leader, Legal Services (XL Catlin), Marion Conlan, Global Lead-Business Services (Diageo), Marco Sabanes, Senior Global Category Strategy Manager Professional Services (Pfizer), and Martin de Grijp, Group Chief Operations Officer, Legal & Integrity (ABB).

What is the prize?

Award winners will receive a trophy, certificate, and logo for use on their marketing materials or website.

Further Rules:

  • All entries must be submitted online through this form.
  • Judges' decisions are final and awards will be given at their discretion. If the criteria have not been meet, judges may decide to not nominate a winner in any of the categories. 
  • Content submitted in the "Synopsis" section may be used publicly. The content and its publication must hence be lawful and not confidential.
  • Entrants will be deemed to have accepted all rules and procedures on this page and to have agreed to be bound by them when entering this competition.

For questions or media inquiries, please contact Dr. Silvia Hodges Silverstein at