There is a new approach to buying legal services and the new way forward is the mission

of the Buying Legal® Council.

RFP MASTER CLASS FOR BUYERS:

An Online Course for Buyers of Legal Services

RFPs are becoming more complex and more and more clients use them to identify law firms who will provide the best legal services in a cost-effective and efficient way.

Creating an RFP for legal services can be quite challenging. In this four-part RFP Master Class you will learn how to create better RFPs for legal services. The modules will include presentations, exercises, dialogues with proposal writers on the firm side and proposals analytics and technology experts.

You will also receive checklists and templates to improve your RFPs. You will learn:

  • Best practices for RFPs - Asking the right questions
  • Procurement RFPs and law firm legal ops - Working together
  • What law firms hate about RFPs - Avoiding mistakes
  • Technology and analytics - Evaluating proposals and fees

This workshop will benefit both experienced Procurement and legal ops professionals and lawyers. It provides a rare opportunity to discuss RFPs and proposals response issues with your peers and those who respond to your RFPs.

Module 1 RFP Best Practices Processes and Management of Bid Winners

RFP Best Practices Processes and Management of Bid Winners – Learn about processes used to develop RFPs and structured ways to analyze proposals from experienced legal Procurement professionals. Many in-house legal departments do not have a formal process for developing RFPs nor do they know the right questions to ask. Thus, the good – the bad – and the ugly RFPs. Law firms are not charmed by responding to panel RFPs because they are not receiving work after “winning” the bid. What can be done to nurture good relationships with external counsel following the selection process?

Module 2 Procurement Strategy and Scope of Work

Procurement Strategy and Scope of Work – Collaboration strategy between Procurement and Legal; better forecasting multi-year demand for legal services including complex work; balancing competence, coverage and cost objectives, and moving past relationship-based sourcing of legal services to strategic collaboration with law firms. Gain insight from in-house and law firms on what each needs in RFPs. How legal ops on both sides can work better together following the RFP.

Module 3 Processes that Prevent Procurement from Getting the Best Responses to RFPs

Processes that prevent Procurement from Getting the Best Responses to RFPs – Law firms get to weigh in on best practices. Understanding what law firms hate about RFPs will give you insights on how to improve you RFPs. Also, what Procurement does well – so not all bad news. Now you get to hear some rants from the other side to improve your RFP processes for better results.

Module 4 Technology and Analytics for Better Results

Technology and Analytics for Better Results – Now that the RFP has been sent Procurement needs to analyze the proposals. Evaluating proposals is a time consuming process particularly for selecting representative or panel firms. Manual analysis isn’t necessarily the best way to audit a proposal. Streamlining and automating the legal RFP process may be a wise alternative for law firm selection and matter-specific RFPs. Check out a number of software solutions that simplify work flows and capture your buying data on a centralized platform. Decide if automating the procurement process is best for you.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR FOR THIS FOUR-MODULE MASTER CLASS


Please note that the 90-min ONLINE Master Classes are held at:

Europe: 17:30 EET / 16:30 CET / 15:30 GMT 
Americas: 10:30am ET / 9:30am CT / 8:30am MT / 7:30am PT



MEET THE PRESENTER

Nancey Watson, President, NL Watson Consulting Inc. 

Nancey has over 25 years of experience responding to professional services RFPs and 15 year responding exclusively to RFPs for legal services. Over the years Nancey has used her expertise with in-house procurement to develop a database with questions by industry and practice area that should be included in RFPs.

She has presented the topic How Procurement Impacts Law Firm Selection in Toronto, New York, Los Angeles, and Houston. She also presented Beyond the RFP: Linking Strategy and Values to the Proposal for Legal Services Process at the Canadian Corporate Counsel Association National Conference and other conferences around the world.

She is the author of The Silver Bullet: How RFPs are Won (Ark Group), providing procurement with valuable insight on how law firms think. Nancey is a contributing author for the Legal Executive Institute and regularly write about procurement and how to work with law firms. Visit www.nlwatsonconsulting.com for more information.

This is an interactive program incorporating your needs as a participant whenever possible. Participants can also submit questions they would like addressed. Email nancey@nlwatsonconsulting.com before February 26, 2020.

PRICING

The price includes all four Master Class webinar modules and online access to all class materials including presentation slides, articles, and templates as well as a certificate upon completion.

General Admission for Buyers: US$ 650

Price for Friends of the Buying Legal Council: US$500 

Price for Members of the Buying Legal Council: US$400


Members and Friends please email Doria to sign up.


SIGN UP

RFP Master Class for Buyers


Cancellation & Refund Policy: Written requests for registration refunds must be received via email (silvia@buyinglegal.com) by February 20, 2020. All conference cancellations received on or before that date will receive a full refund less an administrative fee of $100. No refunds will be made after that date (name substitutions only). Refunds are not given for no-shows.